New criteria to determine the “new” property tax

In 2022, all land in Germany must be revalued.

In April 2018, the Federal Constitutional Court determined that the existing property tax was unconstitutional. This led to the creation of new legislature and new regulations which was passed in the Bundesrat on 08.11.2019 and which will come into force on 01.01.2025.

What changes?

Each federal state is able to introduce its own property tax model as a result of the legislative reform, so there are different models depending on the federal state.

Hesse, Bavaria, Hamburg and Lower Saxony will employ a so-called “area factor method” to determine the property tax in future. In this procedure, the taxpayer must provide information on the area of land and living/usable space in the tax return. The tax office then determines the resulting valuation factor.

Baden-Württemberg will implement a pure land value tax without evaluating the building.

All other federal state will follow the so-called “federal model” for determining the new assessment of the land tax. In these cases a complex, separate determination of the land and building value is carried out. The assessment is similar to the determination of market value.

Who is affected by the submission of the assessment declaration?

Every landowner – irrespective of whether it is owner-occupied or rented property, single-family or multi-family house, condominium or agricultural and forestry property.

What has to be done?

In order to be able to implement and carry out the necessary procedures, the respective tax authorities require information from you. This information is recorded in declarations of assessment, the scope of which varies depending on the federal state and the determination model used by that state.

You can only submit these declarations of assessment to the tax office electronically via the ELSTER procedure; this requires registration via the elster.de portal and the creation of an ELSTER user account (unless you already have a user account, e.g. for your income tax return).

Alternatively, you are welcome to contact us. We will support you in preparing the assessment return and submit it for you in a legally secure manner, so that you do not have to worry about having your own online access, preparing and submitting the assessment return.

Important deadlines!

As a rule, the declarations of assessment must be submitted between July 1 and October 31, 2022.

We will be happy to assist you with all questions regarding the property tax reform and your costs, which we aim to keep manageable by means of a flat fee.

Andreas Fenners

Andreas Fenners

Tax Consultant, Graduate economist, Foundation consultant (DSA) | Phone +49.6102.71170 | info@kp-taxandlaw.com

Neue Pflichten zur Ermittlung der „neuen“ Grundsteuer

Grundsteuerreform – Im Jahr 2022 müssen sämtliche Grundstücke in Deutschland neu bewertet werden

Das Bundesverfassungsgericht hatte im April 2018 festgestellt, dass die bestehende Grundsteuer verfassungswidrig ist. Dadurch war der Gesetzgeber verpflichtet eine Neuregelung zu schaffen, die am 08.11.2019 im Bundesrat verabschiedet wurde und zum 01.01.2025 in Kraft tritt.

Was ändert sich?

Jedem Bundesland ist es mit der Gesetzesreform möglich, ein eigenes Grundsteuermodell einzuführen, daher gibt es unterschiedliche Modelle je nach Bundesland.

Hessen, Bayern, Hamburg und Niedersachen orientieren sich zur Bestimmung der Grundsteuer künftig an einem sogenannten „Flächen-Faktor-Verfahren“. Bei diesem Verfahren muss der Steuerpflichtige in der Steuererklärung Angaben zu Boden- sowie Wohn-/ Nutzfläche vornehmen. Einen sich daraus ergebenden Bewertungsfaktor ermittelt das Finanzamt.

Baden-Württemberg setzt eine reine Bodenwertsteuer um, ohne dabei das Gebäude zu bewerten.

Alle übrigen Bundesländer orientieren sich für die Ermittlung der neuen Bemessung der Grundsteuer am sogenannten „Bundesmodell“. In diesen Fällen wird eine komplexe gesonderte Ermittlung des Boden- und des Gebäudewertes durchgeführt. Die Bewertung ähnelt dabei der Verkehrswertermittlung.

Wen trifft die Abgabe der Feststellungserklärung?

Jeden Grundeigentümer, ob eigengenutzte oder vermietete Immobilie, ob Ein- oder Mehrfamilienhaus, Eigentumswohnung oder Land- und Forstwirtschaftliche Liegenschaften.

Was ist zu tun?

Um die jeweiligen Verfahren umsetzen und durchführen zu können, benötigen die zuständigen Finanzbehörden Angaben von Ihnen. Diese werden in Feststellungserklärungen erfasst, deren Umfang je nach dem Bundesland und dem von diesem angewandten Ermittlungsmodell unterschiedlich umfangreich sind.

Diese Feststellungserklärungen können Sie ausschließlich elektronisch über das ELSTER-Verfahren an das Finanzamt übermitteln; dazu ist eine Registrierung über das Portal elster.de und die Einrichtung eines ELSTER-Benutzerkontos erforderlich (sofern Sie nicht bereits über ein Benutzerkonto, z.B. für Ihre Einkommensteuererklärung, verfügen).

Sie können Sie sich aber alternativ gerne auch an uns wenden. Wir unterstützen Sie bei der Erstellung der Feststellungserklärung und reichen diese rechtssicher für Sie ein, so dass Sie sich nicht um einen eigenen Onlinezugang, die Erstellung und Abgabe der Feststellungserklärung kümmern müssen.

Achtung Fristen!

Die Feststellungserklärungen sind in der Regel vom 1. Juli bis zum 31. Oktober 2022 abzugeben.

Gerne unterstützen wir Sie bei allen Fragen rund um die Grundsteuerreform und zu Ihren Kosten, die wir über eine Vergütungspauschale überschaubar halten wollen.

Andreas Fenners

Andreas Fenners

Steuerberater, Diplom-Ökonom, Stiftungsberater (DSA) | Telefon +49.6102.71170 | info@kp-taxandlaw.com